I hate being in a position where I can’t communicate the basics of a language and I have a dislike for those people that assume all the world ought to speak English. So I’m trying to learn the essentials in Cantonese. It’s not as easy as picking up Italian last year as it’s not just something that sounds natural to me but the effort is there, and most native people tend to appreciate the effort you put in. Currently, I can say the numbers 1-10, ‘hello’, ‘good morning’, ‘goodbye’, ‘please’, ‘thank you’ and ‘one waffle with lots of sauce please’. All the essentials.

Leave a Reply

