I was already using an amalgamation of regional vocabulary before I got here. Born in London, brought up in Yorkshire, Geordie family, honestly my speech is all over the shop. (Took a long time to realise that when my Grandma was asking for ket she actually meant she wanted some candy.) ((When she asked me if I knew anyone that could get her some weed, I was equally as startled to discover that it was indeed what she wanted and not some other geordie translation of something totally legal and innocent.))

Living with and meeting people from all over the world has only made this whole mush of accents and vocabulary worse.

At what point did I start calling sweets candy and the lift an elly? And what is a braai and why do I keep saying it? Why, when I got new trainers for Christmas did I show off my new sneaks? I am so lost.

Leave a Reply

