I’ve been in Hong Kong now for over 8 months and my latest trip to Indonesia was the first time I’d left for a long period of time. City breaks over a couple of days are brilliant but they don’t give you much time to take a breather from the chaos that is Hong Kong. I didn’t realise quite how much I needed a breather either until I stepped out of the car in a little village in rural Indonesia and untensed my shoulders for the first time since I have no idea, but I’m fairly certain I grew about three inches. After climbing Rinjani I headed to the Gili islands for some diving and beach time in tropical paradise and finally headed to Bali for another dose of it.

I’m forever changing my mind about my next steps after Hong Kong. I’ve had my eyes on Japan for some skiing, maybe Taiwan, maybe Vietnam but sticking in Hong Kong and pursuing the writing career was looking like a more and more likely option by the day. I mean I have lots of friends here now, I know the streets, I love the hiking, I love the food, I’m making great connections and I’m very very happy here. It feels like a home.

But since leaving I’ve realised that I’ve actually got far too comfortable in the 852. If I’m being honest hanging around islands scuba diving and climbing volcanoes or getting my ski on is definitely more of my scene than Hong Kong is, at least for now. I definitely wouldn’t describe myself as a city girl but I think I’ve taken on the label quite well since arriving.

Hong Kong is great and I’m not going to turn around and say that it doesn’t qualify as one of the greatest cities in the world, but I guess there is a lot more to the world than Hong Kong despite that. I haven’t even scraped the surface of exploring it yet. So it’s looking more likely now that I’ll be packing up my bags in September and starting over somewhere else in Asia, hopefully with bigger hills and more opportunities to swim with turtles but I’m not fussy.

Leave a Reply

