In case you hadn’t already picked up on it, I’m currently living in Hong Kong. Whether or not you’ve been, you’ll probably be aware that it doesn’t often get lumped with the adjective ‘quiet’. I also happen to live in Mong Kok, one of the most densely populated areas in the world and so my sounds to wake up to tend to be more along the lines of street performers, the ladies market being assembled and sirens. It’s definitely a switch up from the tweeting birds that used to wake me up at home or the magpie that spent a period of time flying full speed into my window causing quite a large bang. Mornings in Mong kok don’t quite set you up for a day that will be chaos free because as soon as you step out of the door you’re hit with people. Everywhere.

Every now and then I think it’s important to switch up the electronic alarm clock, get away from the people and get woken up the old fashioned way. In Indonesia I spent nights camping under the stars and waking up with the sunrise. Or, for a few sleeps it was a rooster that got me out of bed in the morning. Whilst my initial thought was ‘you SOB’ my second one was realising how refreshing it is to get out of the city and away from the people for a while to be left with your own thoughts. Despite the rooster having no snooze button, I found myself being grateful to be woken up knowing that I wouldn’t have to deal with any of the chaos that comes with living in Hong Kong.

Leave a Reply

