I’d like to take the opportunity to thank my incredible Mum. I’m sure there are an abundant list of things that I’ve probably forgotten to thank you for over the years, but this particular post is in regards to one special attribute that I quite obviously inherited from you.

Of all the incredible and beautiful qualities that make you who you are, I am eternally grateful that you passed on the best one to me. Thank you Mum for ensuring that I am just as prone to not being able to stay upright as you are.

Yes, it’s happened again. I’ve hit the floor. My knees are scraped up once again, I’ve developed a bit of a hobble after falling hard on a rock and the majority of my left shin has a pretty terrible bruise all the way down it. This happens to me far too often and I’m now plagued with scars up and down both my legs from the sheer inability to remain poised and balanced for a normal amount of time. I’d like to say that I had a cool story to go with each of the many scars and bumps on my body now, but actually the reality is that they’re the result of no epic adventure, just my daily struggles to remain vertical.

Upon returning from a hike on Sunday and showing my cool new scratches to my housemate, I tried to enforce the logic that the reason I must fall over seemingly so much more than other people, was the fact that I actually just walked further than them because I do a lot of hiking. With this in mind, I figured actually I just fall over at the same rate as other people, I just go through the number of steps before falling much quicker, so I end up injured more often. I found this logic pretty sound and very comforting.

However Carly trumped this logic by pointing out that if I walked further than other people, I should technically be better at it and therefore not fall over as often. This also made a lot of sense to me.

As a conclusion I have found it best to just accept that the incidents and accidents that I have witnessed my Mum partake in over the years, of which there are some terrible, some hilarious and some unbelievable, are in fact just my inevitable future.

It’s definitely true that you turn into your parents, and I’m starting to realise this more and more every day. Overall, I’d say I’m a pretty even mix of the two of them. I’m glad that I’ve inherited my Dad’s outdoorsy, more adventurous nature. I’m terrified that this love of  walking up steep gradients and along the side of cliff edges on mountains is paired with the clumsiness of my Mother.

The offer of kneepads from numerous different people doesn’t seem like such a funny idea anymore, but may in fact be my saviour.

 

Leave a Reply

