I learnt from day 1 that bringing an umbrella everywhere that you go in Hong Kong is probably one of the wisest things you can do whilst living here. When it rains here, it doesn’t just sprinkle, so it’s definitely best to bring something to ease the inevitability of you getting soaked on whatever brief walk that you are embarking on. I also had the pleasure of learning this weekend, that sun cream is another thing that you should also try to carry at all times.

Yesterday’s junk boat had a miserable start, with the prospect of only thunder and rain for the entirety of the day. For that reason, it so occurred that the majority of people turned up to the junk not having brought any sun cream. Twenty minutes in, the sun was shining, there wasn’t a cloud in the sky and we all proceeded to resemble lobsters by about 2 in the afternoon. I think I tend to be pretty fortunate because I don’t tend to burn, and I was definitely one of the least red to get off the boat. All that being said, I still had an exceptionally painful shower last night and carrying my bag to work today was somewhat uncomfortable. Lesson well and truly learnt.

Leave a Reply

