I kind of always resented the question asking whether I wanted to be a teacher considering I spent three years studying literature. My answer was always a resounding no, I most certainly never saw myself teaching.

As it happens, after finishing a summer of work in London and Edinburgh after uni, I decided that entering a world of slaving away in an office trying work my way up the job ladder was not really a life that I was very excited for, at least not yet. I knew I wanted to travel and teaching seemed like the easiest way to do that whilst still making money. And a month later I found myself in Hong Kong teaching children English.

If you’d have asked me 3 months in if I enjoyed teaching I would have again offered a resounding no. It was very okay, but nothing I saw myself doing for longer than a year. If you’d have asked me 6 months in the same question, then you’d have got the same answer. It wasn’t until probably about the 9 month mark that I realised how much I loved spending my days with incredible children and being a part of their growth. So now, yes I admit it, I really love teaching.

Not every day, not always, and it’s still really important to me to keep on writing and pursuing other things in terms of jobs, but I’d be lying if I said that I hated it.

My time in Hong Kong is coming to an end, at least for now, and whilst a month ago I was ready for it to be over and prepared for a new adventure, I can’t put into words how gutted I am to be leaving this city and the incredible children that I have met here. The other day, one of my kids and her Mum came in to thank me for everything I had done for her. Honestly, I’m so proud of this girl because she came to me speaking pretty much zero English and has struggled in every aspect of each course she has taken with me, but always worked so hard to keep up and now she’s a good little speaker and the best speller in my class. She gave me a home made card and a thank you note and I was holding back tears at the thought of no longer seeing this girl through her learning. Kids like her are definitely the reason that I love teaching as much I do.

Teaching still isn’t going to be forever for me, but I’ve decided to up and move to Taiwan to try it out there for a little while. Hopefully, I’ll still love it as much as I do now, this time next year.

2 thoughts on “103. Admit that you love teaching.

Leave a Reply

