Peace out

Hong Kong is one of those amazing cities where the concept of time just kind of evaporates. I got here a year ago today, and I can still remember getting off the plane like it was yesterday.

As it happens I’m leaving a week today to travel for a few months before moving to Taiwan. I don’t want to even begin to suggest that I’m not extremely giddy at the thought of new adventures, but the truth is I’m really not ready to say bye to this incredible place or any of the beautiful people I’ve had the pleasure of passing the time with.

Hong Kong is addictive. It’s got everything you could ever want in a place and so much more. Neck straining skyscrapers, some of the best food in the world, junks, beaches, hikes and a whole bunch of people living at 100mph (and that doesn’t even scratch the surface). I think it’s one of those places that you can never really tire of, because there’s always somewhere else to go or someone new to meet. I could stay here a fair few more years very comfortably and the only thing that’s stopping me is the desire to not be comfortable or settled for a while.

It’s going to be a hard goodbye next week but I imagine somewhere down the line I’ll be back. At the end of the day, Hong Kong isn’t going anywhere and living here has made me realise how damn small the world is. If you want to go somewhere or do something, then the only way that is going to happen is going there and doing it, rather than just talking about it or admiring someone else’s life from afar. So, with that being said, if I hear Hong Kong calling my name again, I’ll be sure as hell ready to say Hello to it again.

Leave a Reply

