I guess friendships begin, end and flourish for all of reasons. One of my favourite things about traveling is all the people that you pass the time with and meet along the way – from all over the world. I’ve made some lifetime friends in the lobbies of hostels or dodgy buses to pretty villages or even sharing biscuits on the side of an Indonesian volcano with. 

I just spent the week living with a Japanese lady who could speak minimal English and it was one of the most authentic and comforting weeks of my life – not to mention that I felt like I was really at home for the first time in over a year. Don’t get me wrong though, Hong Kong was most certainly an incredible home, but it did lack those warm creature comforts you get when you go to visit your grandparents and that’s exactly what I felt when staying with Kazuko.
At the end of the day it doesn’t matter that Kazuko can’t speak much English and we can’t speak much Japanese, because honestly, and this is corny, you can feel the love in absolutely everything she does for you. Every conversation I had with Kazuko was broken and often misunderstood, but I said goodbye with tears in my eyes because I knew I was walking away from a person who is a kind and thoughtful friend to me now.

2 thoughts on “131. Don’t let language be a barrier to your friendships.

  1. So true! It’s always so comforting to be faced with a friendly, motherly face when you’ve been away from home for a long time. Well, that’s what I find anyway. Probably shouldn’t still need looking after at my age but there you go!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

