So I’ve gone from growing up using a knife and fork, to a year of using nothing but chopsticks and thus have difficulty with a knife and fork, to then using a fork and spoon (haven’t seen a knife in Malaysia) to just using hands. And I’m a big fan.I’ve now gone against my parents’ instructions growing up, that being not to use my hands at the table, and successfully eaten two meals without even touching any form of cutlery. Let me tell you, it’s much easier to pull apart chicken than it is to struggle with a knife. Rice is a bit more of a challenge but once you get the whole scooping thing down, the whole process speeds up somewhat. It’s actually quite a skill so I hope my parents can be proud of my seemingly huge jump backwards. It’s important to act as the locals act.

Leave a Reply

