When you’re living however many thousands of miles away from your family, recieving a package from the UK is equivalent to that feeling you get when you’re about three on Christmas morning upon the realisation that Santa has stopped by. This week my family sent me a few things from home to help me settle in to life in Taiwan, especially over the Chirstmas period. Photos, candles, the always missed Cadburys chocolate and some wooly jumpers. There’s really no denying that tearing into the boxes had me, well, elated would be a huge understatement, but upon finally getting in, what hit me most was the smell of my home that had been carefully kept inside of a box and posted half way around the world. Everything in there smelt exactly how home does, and that’s both the happiest and saddest thing in the world to me – particularly around the Christmas period.

Leave a Reply

