For want of a better expression, after one sh*tstorm of a year, we’re back around to Christmas in seemingly the blink of an eye. There’s really no denying that on a worldly level, this year has been pretty damn awful, but it’s Christmas and there’s no use lingering on things that we can do nothing to change at this point. Besides, to contrast that in a somewhat selfish manner, 2016 has been the best year of my entire life so far. I continue to be confronted with love, adventure and happiness in every path that life has taken me down over the last 365 days. This world is exploding at the seams with stories filled with smiles.

I find myself once again in Asia this year – this time it’s Christmas Taiwan edition – away from my incredible and beautiful family. Unsurprisingly, Taiwan has well and truly stolen my heart and Christmas on the beach, riding around on scooters with my friends is of course another one that will go down in the best of memories. Maybe in 50 years I’ll be sat around my own Christmas table telling my grandchildren about the Christmases I spent seemingly a million miles away from home – who knows?

I’ll be the first to hold up my hands and say that I miss the UK terribly at this time of year. Christmas markets that smell of gingerbread and mulled wine, wrapped up tight against the cold, the smell of my house when the fire is on, London’s Christmas lights and hilarious Christmas dinners. There’s really nowhere I would rather be than in my living room on Christmas Day, by the fire, watching Christmas movies and gorging on Quality Street with my Mum, Dad and brother. It really is the most wonderful time of the year.

I suppose in the midst of missing it terribly, I should also acknowledge that I’m incredibly grateful to have experienced all of those wonderful things enough to get that warm glow from them at this time of year, every year, no matter how far away from the UK and my family I might be. Maybe I can’t be with them and my friends back home again this year, but it makes me happy to know that they’re all there, happy and healthy and celebrating Christmas together. I promise I’ll come back soon and fill my space at the dinner table. The streets here aren’t filled with that wonderful Christmas joy you get back home, but I most certainly am.

Merry Christmas,

All my love xxx

2 thoughts on “156. It’s the most wonderful time of the year.

Leave a Reply

