Life seems to be ever increasingly filled with adventures these days (not a complaint), and rarely does a week pass without something worth writing about happening. My latest adventure took me, yet again, to a public hot spring, this time in the beautiful Yanmingshan National Park 陽明山國家公園. After a day of hiking in the cold and the rain, aka major throwback to my entire life in the UK, it was time to rest the muscles in a hot spring recommended to me by a friend. 

I’ve got to a point in life where I have had plenty of hot spring adventures and I’m very comfortable with walking around naked in front of both strangers and friends – the prude British lass in me is dwindling with every second. But I have to admit that there is a such a thing as an overwhelming number of naked bodies to be surrounded by – who knew? This particular hot spring was packed to the very inch with ladies no younger than 60. That’s a lot of naked ladies. So two white 23 year olds strolling in baring all did stir up quite a bit of attention – one even attempted to wash us and I’m still trying to decide if being complimented by an old Taiwanese lady whilst you’re stood naked in front of her is the best or the worst kind of compliment.

Overall, given that you were sat touching the person next to you, the whole nude adventure, under these circumstances, lasted a swift fifteen minutes before we decided that we’d just deal with the discomfort of having sore muscles the next day.

Leave a Reply

